food for thought

by michelle

tortilla soup

with 2 comments

Today I’m making tortilla soup. Usually our  left-over tortillas are transformed into quesadillas but this time I’ve made sure to keep a few. First there’s the chicken. This is optional, but I’m making this as a substantial main meal so I’m poaching some chicken in cold water. I find that bringing the heat up slowly makes the chicken really tender and juicy and I can use the liquid for the soup. Next I’ll gently fry a diced onion, some garlic and 2 fresh green jalapeño chillies in a little corn oil, adding some green capsicum (or bell pepper). Now half a teaspoon each of dried oregano and ground chipotle (for that smokey flavour) before adding a large tin of chopped tomatoes and 4 cups of chicken stock (including the poaching liquid) and bringing to the boil. Now I’ll add about a cup each of drained black beans, hominy (white corn) and frozen corn kernels. While the soup simmers for 10 minutes or so, I’ll fry strips of tortilla in a little corn oil until crispy. Now the soup will be ready for the diced or shredded chicken. I’m serving it with grated cheese (not too sharp), diced avocado drizzled with lime juice, the tortilla strips, and spring onion. Sour cream and coriander (cilantro) would be good too!

 

Written by michelle picker

October 18, 2010 at 8:07 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michelle,you’re making my mouth water! The photos are great!

    Gabby Halloran

    October 19, 2010 at 10:09 pm

  2. mmmmm…… can I come over for a bowl? 🙂

    Josie

    October 19, 2010 at 7:38 pm


Leave a Reply

