food for thought

by michelle

celery stir-fry

with 2 comments

Never a favourite of mine, I used to leave celery off my shopping list. That was until I travelled to China. There I ate some simple celery stir-fries, usually with only one other ingredient such as onion, lotus or even macadamia. Since then, I’ve added celery to my repertoire, sometimes with onion or with tomato segments and this time with carrot and water chestnut. Heat a little oil in a wok until very hot then flavour the oil with some sliced garlic, discarding it when it starts to brown. Add the celery and carrots, cut into similarly sized diagonal slices, and fry for a few minutes. Add one small tin of sliced water chestnuts (drained) and continue to cook until the vegetables are cooked but still have some crunch. Lastly, add ½ a teaspoon each of salt and sugar and a ¼ teaspoon of ground white pepper and mix through before serving.

Written by michelle picker

January 2, 2011 at 1:07 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I too have always left celery off my shopping list. I will give this a whirl! Do you serve it with rice and some kind of separate meat dish?

    Kate

    January 4, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    • Yes, that’s exactly how I would serve it! Because it’s so crunchy it contrasts well with softer dishes like mapo dofu or similar stewed meat dishes or even a soft noodle stir-fry.

      michelle picker

      January 4, 2011 at 4:52 pm


Leave a Reply

